Brains Not Included

Cracked Up, Whacked Out and Completely Out of Control

Why Are Obama Supporters So Angry

It’s 4AM and it happened again.  I just can’t sleep because of something that happened with a long-time, good friend. 

In responding to an email my wife sent out, this friend of mine who is an Obama supporter seems to have taken offence to something on the about page of this web site.  In one portion of this site I talk about an advantage I have over my buddies because their illiteracy.

Now here’s the thing, I’m probably the most illiterate of the bunch, but as I explained it I like to poke fun.  Besides, this is Brains Not Included and that includes mine!  LOL

Now I was about to brush it off when another buddy of mine made a comment about the site.  He toasted the holiday with me and said he had read the site.  He asked if the comment about illiteracy was about him, he chuckled and said it was appropriate and then complemented me on the site.

I think there is a deeper problem here than just who supports whom.  Here we have two people, both friends of a very long time.  One takes offence while the other laughs and ‘get’s it’ and moves on with a chuckle.

It seems to me that a large majority of the people who support Obama do so with a lot of emotion.  Notice, I did not say ‘out’ of emotion but with a lot of emotion.  There is a problem though, a lot of this emotion seems to be anger.

For sure their is excitement and there is hope, but there is also a great outpouring of anger.  The Obama campaign has been very good at tapping into the anger in America and using that to maintain momentum.  But it’s not the candidates fault.

I see a greater force causeing and fomenting the anger in the electorate.  I am calling this force a war.  It is a War of Ideas and it is being fought by two powerful media outlets.  On one side you have the traditional news media and on the other you have the ‘new’ media.

The new media has grown in size and influence while the traditional media has stagnated.  The traditional media is fighting back and they are using the same tool that the new media uses ….. politics! 

Recent surveys taken by the news organizations themselves show that from 68-73% of all reporting in traditional media outlets about Obama were positive.  These same surveys show round 78% of all reports about McCain were negative. 

These surveys were conducted by the Traditional Media about themselves.  Essentially proving to themselves their own bias.  In a recent interview, when asked about Senator Barak Obama, Tom Brokaw lamented that even he ‘didn’t know much about the man’.  He said he didn’t know his core values or the books he read that influenced his political thinking and these comments were made while acknowledging that his own media outlet had not done enough to vet the candidate.

It is understandable why the electorate is so upset, however what is not understandable is how we have allowed ourselves to be swayed by the negativity and bias being spewed by both sides of the media outlets.  As Americans it is time for us to take our country back, not with the force of government but with the force of our wallets.

The manipulation is to much.  When friends can be so easily offended and when a civil discussion turns into complete and total disrespect of others views just because they chose the opposing candidate we are all in trouble.  And if we continue down this ‘angry’ path, history has shown that there is nothing good at the end.

These are just my observations.  If I’m wrong, and I hope I am, then please reach out to me and show me the brighter side.

Filed under: Uncategorized, , , , , , , , ,

One Response

  1. […] Why Are Obama Supporters So Angry It’s 4AM and it happened again.  I just can’t sleep because of something that happened with a long-time, good friend.  In responding to an email my wife sent out, this friend of mine who is an Obama supporter seems to have taken offence to something on the about page of this web site.  In one portion of this site I talk about an advantage I have over my buddies because their illiteracy. Now here’s the thing, I’m probably the most illiterate of the bunch, but as I explained it I like to poke fun.  Besides, this is Brains Not Included and that includes mine!  LOL Now I was about to brush it off when another buddy of mine made a comment about the site.  He toasted the holiday with me and said he had read the site.  He asked if the comment about illiteracy was about him, he chuckled and said it was appropriate and then complemented me on the site. I think there is a deeper problem here than just who supports whom.  Here we have two people, both friends of a very long time.  One takes offence while the other laughs and ‘get’s it’ and moves on with a chuckle. It seems to […] […]

Leave a Reply

Categories

